Gears of War Forum built by Gears of War Fans, for Gears of War Fans
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 
 

 Your opinion on K/D ratio.

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
MrElitE
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 33
Gamertag : Hiro0o
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:13 am

Hey whats up people. First off I want to thank Epic for making such a polished game, have been loving it so far. On to the topic though how do you feel about the K/D ratio, they pretty much have this on every game, but idk I feel like it can sometimes take the fun out of playing, thats how I feel anyway. I say this because in every online match I'm more worried about performing great, then I'am about having fun. Was just wondering what others think.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Losthalo51
Clayton Carmine
Clayton Carmine


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 1254
Age : 23
Gamertag : Losthalo51
GOW cash : 1130

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Wed Sep 28, 2011 12:33 pm

I love it because it challenges me to get the highest K/D ratio I've ever had
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chaz665(SA)
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 50
Gamertag : FancyCharles665
GOW cash : 61

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Wed Sep 28, 2011 6:31 pm

I kinda have to agree OP. I'm one of those people who like stats and am sorry I even noticed it. Makes me overly cautious sometimes. Tbh you cannot put too much stock in it though. A lot of times there are bots in the games and this can give someone some cheap kills.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
SuperAznStoner
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 37
Gamertag : SuperAznStoner
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:27 am

points per round/match are better stats to care about but KDR is always cool to have
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ClayCarmine
Clayton Carmine
Clayton Carmine


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 257
Gamertag : DrunknnMunkyy
GOW cash : 75

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:04 am

Yeah I agree in a way but it's good to know your K/D
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ThePublicNME
Administrator
Administrator


Trade Rep : 9
Number of posts : 3120
Age : 36
Gamertag : BlG BOS5
GOW cash : 3893

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:21 am

K/D is good to look at I love stats but it is the reason for many kill stealing unfortunatley

_______________________________________________________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.gearsofwarfans.com
MrElitE
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 33
Gamertag : Hiro0o
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:58 am

Yeah, I do love striving to do better. The pressure to do better though sometimes throws me off. If I have more then one bad game in a row I kinda just want to turn off my xbox.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Losthalo51
Clayton Carmine
Clayton Carmine


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 1254
Age : 23
Gamertag : Losthalo51
GOW cash : 1130

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:32 am

Yeah I get that way myself, but If I take game breaks for a long while I start to love getting challenged.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ClayCarmine
Clayton Carmine
Clayton Carmine


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 257
Gamertag : DrunknnMunkyy
GOW cash : 75

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 9:02 am

But then if you have a bad game then you're worried that k/d has went down, it's bad in that sense.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PFP 585
New Recruit
New Recruit


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 10
GOW cash : 12

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:25 pm

Gears is more of a team based game. I wouldn't worry about k/d as much as win lose ratio.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mike NFCT
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 118
Gamertag : Mike NFCT
GOW cash : 136

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Fri Sep 30, 2011 5:12 am

PFP 585 wrote:
Gears is more of a team based game. I wouldn't worry about k/d as much as win lose ratio.

If that is so, where are the flippin Clan Tags?

They need to be there. I NEED to know who is playing in a clan and who is not. The ways to approach these types of situations is completely different:

Against Randoms and Bots (lol): Game on!

Against a group with a Clan Tag: No Thanks, searching for another match which is "searching skill level" as the first step (LMFAO-Yeah right). Let them play against a room of bots I say! Smile I'm not staying in a match that stared already against EGC or GODS, give me that option. It's not running scared or preserving my K/D, it's preserving my mental well-being and protecting my plasma TV from a dropkick.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Onyx Hammerburst
Battle Hardened Gear
Battle Hardened Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 404
Gamertag : EngulfingShad0w
GOW cash : 305

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:21 am

K/D Means nothing to me. Since it gets raped by Gnasher and Sawed-Off rushers more than I can kill people with my Hammerburst. You can't believe how many times I drop a guy and then a teammate steals the kill.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.gearsofwar3chatforum.com/
MrElitE
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 33
Gamertag : Hiro0o
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Fri Sep 30, 2011 9:39 am

Yeah, I think that pisses me off more then anything. When lay some guy down with the hammerburst or lancer, just to have them come and steal the kill. And for reasons like that is why my K/D is slowly decreasing :/ sad shit.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Skagdrew
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 40
GOW cash : 52

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Sat Oct 01, 2011 1:01 am

I love boosting my K/D, I play alot of TDM so it's an important stat for me. U guys make some good points, they gotta do something bout the kill stealing, like maybe if u down them but ur teammate takes it (while u are still alive) then u still get the kill. Or perhaps whoever did the most damage to em. I don't think there is an easy answer but it does my head in

A nice little side stat could be kills stolen? Both ones committed by u and against u? That wud be easy to do and pretty amusing

It ain't just shotty users nicking kills though after an epic gnasher battle to have someone nick it from across the map with hammer/lancer is pretty damn annoying
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TheMeInTeam
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 75
GOW cash : 80

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:32 am

Points/round is the best measure (I'm ~700, just slightly under). I've had MVP ribbons with 7 kills in TDM before lol (2-0 our side wins, I had a lot of damage done/got some kills taken from me, though some legit as I couldn't reach the guy). Best players are ones that do the most damage/put most bullets in the other side, because those are the ones that keep the other side away from good weapons/locations and control them.

Don't put too much stock in K/D. It matters only as a secondary stat to winning games. If you play well the kills will come.

Also for TDM formats net kills >>> K/D. A guy who gets 4 kills and 2 deaths across a 3 round match has a 2.0 K/D, but is probably terrible. A guy who gets 20 kills but dies 15 times "only" has a 1.33 K/D, but has more kills over deaths and a LOT more contributed damage. The latter player is better in every single way, but you wouldn't know that by looking at the K/D stat alone.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mutlien
Armoured Kantus
Armoured Kantus


Clan : NME
Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 1039
Age : 44
Gamertag : Mutlien
GOW cash : 817

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:46 am

KD don't interest me either to be honest.... I like the team aspect of it all and if I down someone and my team mate kills them - great! I sometimes off-load a lancer into a room full of people and it's not to kill steal - it's covering fire and sometimes I end up with kills I am not aware of...

As long as the team I'm playing with don't tell me otherwise, I'll continue to play this way - it seems to have been ok this far!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TheMeInTeam
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 75
GOW cash : 80

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:49 am

mutlien wrote:
KD don't interest me either to be honest.... I like the team aspect of it all and if I down someone and my team mate kills them - great! I sometimes off-load a lancer into a room full of people and it's not to kill steal - it's covering fire and sometimes I end up with kills I am not aware of...

As long as the team I'm playing with don't tell me otherwise, I'll continue to play this way - it seems to have been ok this far!

You can rack up a lot of points and do very well as a team player. Kills DO happen. I'm of the opinion that anytime a player sees someone downed they should kill him. That goes for my downs and for other downs. As long as you don't expose yourself to death to take "my" kill, kill the guy. There are no guarantees until that guy is dead.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Wooden Mask
Imperial Magi
Imperial Magi


Clan : DEED
Trade Rep : 1
Number of posts : 1202
Age : 21
Gamertag : The Wooden Mask
GOW cash : 921

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:28 am

I agree, if someone is downed, just kill them. I don't care if it was my kill or anyone elses, just kill the guy, period. As long as you don't go out of your way to get him then its all good. I personally hate people who always blame someone for kill stealing when they could not get to the downed guy. Just kill him before he is revived thats all i care about.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cia-carmineisalive.webs.com
SuperAznStoner
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 37
Gamertag : SuperAznStoner
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:06 am

dont steal kills!!! if they cant get to the guy its one thing but dont just take other peoples kills.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MrElitE
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 33
Gamertag : Hiro0o
GOW cash : 39

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:10 am

Hey, I'm cool with Players killing opponets that I cant get to, but if you see down a person, and you put forth no effort then why do you get the kill. I think I hate that more then enything. Especialy when its the last kill of the match, and your walking over to the guy you downed to get the last execution, and then some guy either runs up and kicks him, or shoots him from a across the map. How does that not make you upset? :0
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Wooden Mask
Imperial Magi
Imperial Magi


Clan : DEED
Trade Rep : 1
Number of posts : 1202
Age : 21
Gamertag : The Wooden Mask
GOW cash : 921

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:33 am

Im not saying like if im like right beside him about to exicute him, i mean like if im father away and your right beside him, i really don't care.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://cia-carmineisalive.webs.com
wwuussaaTRON
New Recruit
New Recruit


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 3
GOW cash : 3

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 9:59 am

I love the idea, even though many people say that it would lead to heavvvyyy campers I think they way they developed the rest of the game I dont see hardly any campers. Makes me want to play hard on pubs instead of just messing around.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
TheMeInTeam
Rookie Gear
Rookie Gear


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 75
GOW cash : 80

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Thu Oct 06, 2011 1:50 pm

SuperAznStoner wrote:
dont steal kills!!! if they cant get to the guy its one thing but dont just take other peoples kills.

No guarantees. You might both die to a shotgun in the back. The other side might pick him up or simply provide cover fire that gets you or your teammate downed. Your teammate might not manage to kill the guy before he gets behind something/gets up.

Just steal and tell them to steal. No risks doing it either way though, just shoot things. Only kill that maybe you can leave alive is the last one, which I generally won't steal either.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Bkhapp3yfac3
New Recruit
New Recruit


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 9
Age : 25
Gamertag : Bkhapp3yfac3
GOW cash : 11

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:16 am

I like the fact that you can see what your kdr is, but from what ive seen it makes the rounds/matches slower because people are more cautious.

I'm more of a team player so i usually go for assists more often though so id like them to implement something to add that into kd like a fraction of a kill or something.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ClayCarmine
Clayton Carmine
Clayton Carmine


Trade Rep : 0
Number of posts : 257
Gamertag : DrunknnMunkyy
GOW cash : 75

PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:31 am

If you can get to the downed guy without running into trouble then of course you will be annoyed that someone stole your kill as you have done all the work and someone takes the kill.

However if you can't get to him then I'm all for someone killing his sorry ass Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Your opinion on K/D ratio.   Today at 5:50 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Your opinion on K/D ratio.
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Your opinion on K/D ratio.
» Surface area to Volume Ratio.
» TERA opinion
» The easy way (in my opinion) to downgrade minecraft back to 1.0.0
» New Marvel Legends: Ratio of Variant to non Variant cases.

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Gears of War Fans :: GEARS OF WAR FORUMS :: Gears of War 3-
Jump to: